There are 18 different penguins (numbers vary, some say 17 or 16). A penguin can live for 20 years and they only live on the southern hemisphere. They cannot fly but are very quick in the water. They lay eggs on land. They are very social and live in colonies (rookeries) of sometimes millions of penguins. Check out more detailed facts HERE.

On the following four pages is information about the 16-17-18 species with some facts about each kind. For more detailed information (for school projects etc) I recommend The Penguin Page. There you can find a printable PDF sheet about each specie.

Page 1:
Emperor - King - Little Blue - White-flippered (Aptenodytes and Eudyptula)
Page 2:
Rockhopper - Macaroni - Fiordland - Snares Island - Erect Crested - Royal (Eudyptes)
Page 3:
Chinstrap - Gentoo - Adelie - Yellow-Eyed (Pygoscelis and Megadyptes)
Page 4:
Magellanic - Galapagos - African - Humboldt (Spheniscus)

Page 1
Aptenodytes (The Great Penguins) & Eudyptula (The Little Penguin)

The Emperor Penguin
(Aptenodytes Forsteri)
The largest penguin, lives in Antarctica.
Weight 30 kg, height 115 cm (45'').
Breeding season late May or June. Lays only one egg.
About 220.000 breeding pairs and stable.

The King Penguin
(Aptenodytes Patagonica)
The second largest, lives below the Antarctic Circle, for example on Macquarie Island and the Falklands.
Height 95 cm (37''), weight 15 kg.
About 3,2 million breeding pairs and stable.

The Little Blue Penguin (or Fairy Penguin)
(Eudyptula Minor)
The smallest, lives in New Zealand and Australia.
Height 45 cm (18''), weight 1 kg.
Breeding season in September - November.
About 1 million breeding pairs and stable.

The White-flippered Penguin
(Eudyptula Minor Albosignata)
 Might be the same as the Little blue penguin.
Height 45 cm (18''), weight 1 kg.
Breeding season in September - November.

CONTINUE TO PAGE 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 /